## Announcement Of The Winners Of The 2017 Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics

In 1993 the Finnish Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation established a biennial award, called the Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics, for a European economist no older than 45 years old who has made a contribution in theoretical and applied research that is significant to economics in Europe. The European Economic Association (EEA) cooperates with the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation in the selection of the award winners.

The Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics has become Europe's most coveted prize for economists no older than 45 years old.

## The 2017 Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics Winners

The EEA is delighted to announce that 2017 Award Committee has decided to award **TWO** deserving economists with this prize for 2017.

Ran Spiegler, of School of Economics, Tel Aviv University, and Department of Economics, University College London, for his important contributions to economic theory and bounded rationality. His investigation of new behavioral models has important implications for our understanding of industrial organization and consumer behaviour.



**Michèle Tertilt**, University of Mannheim, for her important contributions to family economics and household finance. Her work has uncovered the salient implications of gender roles for macroeconomics, development, and fertility. Her research has also contributed to our understanding of the development of consumer credit markets and default rates



The EEA and the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation approved the Selection Committee's decision.

The EEA is pleased to be rewarding such talented individuals and the Association warmly congratulates the winners.

Ran and Michèle will be presented with their Award during the annual EEA Congress to be held in Lisbon, Portugal.

2017 Yrjö Jahnsson Award Selection Committee – Mark Armstrong (Co-Chair), Armin Falk, Hélène Rey (Co-Chair), Kjetil Storesletten and Hannu Vartiainen.